The Lone Ranger Premiere, Berlin, Germany, 19 July-I Was On The Red Carpet

premiereYou can view me among all the others there, on the official live stream video at the CineStar.de website.

Thousands of people flocked to see the stars arrive, and especially Johnny Depp of course, and I was standing right there and had the opportunity to take several photos, videos and get within arm’s distance as he passed me on the way into the theatre. I am not a fan of Johnny Depp, nor of any film stars or any such people. People are people to me, no matter how much money they have, who they are or who others think they are, nor by material or the items on their resumé. The inside: The Person matters to me. No idolizing.

I don’t know Johnny Depp, so I can’t say if I like him or dislike him. I was just there taking in the moment and to support my Native American Indian bro who was part of the festivities more directly. After we left the red carpet, headed downstairs to the theatres to enjoy complimentary spirits and snacks, among German celebrities of all kinds, while Johnny and the others continued to answer fan questions upstairs and promote the film, I called my mother and said, because I know she likes Johnny and follows film: “You’ll never guess where I am…..”

The full article is now available at Indian Country Today Media Network, as I was covering the event for the multi-media group owned and operated by Native Americans. Naturally, more photos I made of the event will be there.

Questions I’ve been asked:

Weren’t you excited to be so close to him?

It seemed a little surreal, but it was more interesting to be in a small area so strongly focused upon by millions, including those on location and those watching from television, computer or mobile devices.

Does he really look as handsome as he does in photo & film or is that airbrushing or something?

He looked exactly as he does in photo or film where he is just in plain clothes (no make-up or props), but from my psychology training on body language, etc.: he seemed quite tired. Understandable considering they were just at the Toyko premiere July 17th, and had just flown in, besides the generally blasé or negative reviews the film has received.

Did you want to shake his hand?

No, but then I rarely shake hands or touch anyone unless they are very well known to me. It’s an Apache thing. We don’t usually touch anyone in public.

Why didn’t you get his autograph?

I am someone who has only general and rather ephemeral interest in most material things (besides books), so no interest. Besides which, I’d have been kicked off the red carpet for trying any such thing. You are coached and expected to behave in a certain way, within certain parameters.

What did you do after you were off the red carpet?

We all went downstairs to the VIP area as I mentioned above. In comparision to my crazy race in a taxi to get to the red carpet after the call I received, I took the regular public transport home at a leisurely pace; stopped to pick-up a döner kebap for dinner, and laughed every now and then as I walked home as the unbelievability of my walk on the rote teppich.

Leave a comment

Filed under Announcements, Events, Germany

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.